“GLORIA” part of the exhibition”MASCHINENSEHEN”

“GLORIA” part of the exhibition”MASCHINENSEHEN”

May 24, 2016
/ / /
Comments Closed

© Photo: Christoph Oeschger

Today, the “Spaceship Earth” (Buckminster Fuller) is equipped with myriad sensors – whether in the form of satellites in space or in the sonar measurement devices in the oceans. Only a few of these are classic “camera eyes”, as one knows them in analog photography. They do, however, produce images: the measurement data gained through these sensors are visualized so as to be rendered amenable to interpretation by the human being.
Such measurements and visualizations take up a momentous role in the processes of control and decision in science, politics and the military, in medicine and in the police. The new practices of the two and three-dimensional cartography produce maps in the form of pixels and voxels that can be freely transformed and called up worldwide. They thus change not only the scope of knowledge and surveillance of the world, but open up a new, worldwide sphere of action.

The project MACHINEVISION is based on the field research of an interdisciplinary seminar at the Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design (HfG), directed by Prof. Armin Linke and curated by Anselm Franke.

(© Text: ZKM Exhibition)

Comments are closed.

  • Clients | Friends | Collaborations
  • Jülich Research Centre
  • Fraunhofer Center for international Management and Knowledge Economy IMW
  • .
  • Dokumentationszentrum Oberer Kuhberg Ulm, e.V. KZ-Gedenkstätte
  • Alternative models and robust decision-making for future forest management
  • .
  • Stiftung Erinnerung Ulm
  • .
  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Copyright © 2020 doku|skopía. Designed by Klasik Themes.
Henning Arnecke & Eduard Stürmer doku|skopía GbR, Weißestraße 42, D-04299 Leipzig

»GLORIA« Teil der Ausstellung »MASCHINENESEHEN«.

»GLORIA« Teil der Ausstellung »MASCHINENESEHEN«.

Mai 24, 2016
/ / /
Comments Closed

© Foto: Christoph Oeschger

Das »Raumschiff Erde« (Buckminster Fuller) ist heute ausgestattet mit einer Unzahl von Sensoren – ob in Form von Satelliten im All oder Sonarmessgeräten in den Ozeanen. Die wenigsten davon sind klassische »Kameraaugen«, wie man sie aus der analogen Fotografie kennt. Dennoch produzieren sie Bilder: Die durch diese Sensoren gewonnenen Massen an Messdaten werden visualisiert, um von Menschen überhaupt interpretiert werden zu können.
Derartige Vermessungen und Visualisierungen nehmen eine folgenreiche Rolle in den Kontroll- und Entscheidungsprozessen der Wissenschaft, der Politik, des Militärs, der Wirtschaft, der Medizin und der Polizei ein. Die neuen Praktiken der zwei- und dreidimensionalen Kartographierung produzieren Karten in Form von Pixeln und Voxeln, die frei transformierbar und weltweit abrufbar sind. Sie verändern dabei nicht allein den Umfang der Erkenntnis und Überwachung der Welt, sondern eröffnen einen neuen, weltumspannenden Handlungsraum.

Das Projekt MASCHINENSEHEN basiert auf der Feldforschung eines interdisziplinären Seminars an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe (HfG) unter der Leitung von Prof. Armin Linke und dem Kurator Anselm Franke.

© (Text: ZKM Ausstellung)

Comments are closed.

  • Kunden | Freunde | Kooperationen
  • Forschungszentrum Jülich
  • Fraunhofer-Zentrum für Internationales Management und Wissensökonomie IMW
  • .
  • Dokumentationszentrum Oberer Kuhberg Ulm, e.V. KZ-Gedenkstätte
  • Alternative models and robust decision-making for future forest management
  • .
  • Stiftung Erinnerung Ulm
  • .
  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
Copyright © 2019 doku|skopía. Designed by Klasik Themes.
Henning Arnecke & Eduard Stürmer doku|skopía GbR, Weißestraße 42, D-04299 Leipzig